A Mind Full of Mindfulness

smoke-incense

I saw a cartoon in a magazine recently depicting juxtaposed images of large, open brain cavities. First, a mind cram-cluttered with tiny, symbolic likenesses of thoughts titled “Mind Full.” The second, almost empty mind, captioned “Mindful” illustrating lots of empty, white space. Room.

I journaled this morning about my current state of overflowing “mindfulness.” It’s a bit of a juggling act: yoga, Chi Gong, meditation, Hay House Radio, Mindfulness Magazine, and a DVR well-stocked with Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday episodes.

Following breakfast each morning, I burn incense, check in with my Angel and Fairy cards, read the daily inspirational quotation from Positive Daily Sayings, and quietly observe my committee of Eastern bluebirds just outside the window.

My phone Apps provide relaxation music, guided meditations, and Deepak Chopra on Instagram.  My journal houses pages willy-nilly with life path calculations, gratitude lists, and reflections on pretty much everything.

My book club meets next week to discuss The Alchemist, one of my new, favorite books. I’m eyebrow-deep into a study of The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Numerology and The Plant Plus Diet Solution. Buddah’s Brain, I have decided, may be too science-ridden for me. Joseph Campbell is on my nightstand (well, his book Reflections on the Art of Living, is). And today I embarked on Lesson 1 of 365 from A Course on Miracles. I have heard a million Spiritualist gurus reference this book and I need to join “the know.”

All this mindfulness can be rather demanding of my time–I do have a real life to live. Seriously, I need to get this under control. Maybe I’ll meditate on it.


Leave a comment